ACLS African Humanities Program competition 2015-16


ACLS African Humanities Program competition
in Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, and Uganda, 2015-16

The American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS), with financial support from the Carnegie Corporation of New York, announces competitions for:
• Dissertation-completion fellowships in Ghana, Nigeria, Tanzania, and Uganda
• Early-career postdoctoral fellowships in Ghana, Nigeria, Tanzania, Uganda, and South Africa
Stipends are $10,000 for dissertation-completion Fellows and $17,000 for postdoctoral Fellows, plus an additional $1,000 per Fellow for books and media at both award levels. Fellowships release recipients from teaching and other duties for an academic year to permit full-time research and writing. (They may be used to “buy time.”) Recipients of both kinds of fellowship are also eligible for further support in the form of a residency at a participating research center in Africa for a sustained period of writing. Approximately forty fellowships will be awarded annually in all five countries combined. Awards will be decided by an international committee of distinguished scholars in the humanities.

For further details visit:, or

Application Deadline: 2 November 2015

Skip to content
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook